Student Freedom Initiative Announces $1.8 Million Grant from Prudential Financial to Launch the Handling Everyday Life Problems for Students (HELPS) Program. Read More.

Woman pointing

Handling Everyday Life Problems for Students (HELPS) Program

The Handling Everyday Life Problems for Students (HELPS) Program provides grants to eligible students to support an emergency, without which continued persistence would be at moderate to high risk. An eligible student is a full or part time undergraduate student, majoring in any area of academic study, and attends one of the institutions below. An eligible student must submit an online application with justification of the emergency. An emergency is defined to be an unexpected, one-time expense, associated with the immediate risk to health, life, property, or student’s environment that requires urgent attention to prevent worsening of the situation or further instability of the student’s situation. Consistent with our emphasis on paying it forward, we are asking eligible students to participate in a study to collect data that will be used to expand the HELPS Program to other HBCUs and students. The institutions below are part of a 3-year pilot, based on the generous philanthropy of our initial corporate sponsor - Prudential Financial.  We recognize the financial hardships faced by our HBCU students exists beyond these institutions below, and we are continuously working with other financial supporters to expand the coverage to more institutions and their students based on the data collected from this pilot.

Claflin Microgrant

See Contact Info +

Claflin University
Reynolda Brown
Vice President for Enrollment Management
Reybrown@claflin.edu
(803) 535-5569

Clark Atlanta University Microgrant

See Contact Info +

Clark Atlanta University
James Stotts
Associate Vice President for Financial Aid
jstotts@cau.edu
(404) 880-8992

Florida A&M University

See Contact Info +

Florida A&M University
Lewis E. Johnson, Ph.D.
Associate Provost for Student Success and Strategic Initiatives
lewis.johnson@famu.edu
(850) 599-8456

Hampton University

See Contact Info +

Hampton University
Martin Miles
Director fo Financial Aid
Martin.Miles@hamptonu.edu
(757) 727-5635

Morehouse Microgrant

See Contact Info +

Morehouse College
Kimberly Morris
Interim Financial Aid Director
kimberly.morris@morehouse.edu

Prairie View A&M University Microgrant

See Contact Info +

Prairie View A&M University
Steve Ransom
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students
saransom@pvamu.edu
(936) 261-3550

Tougaloo College Microgrant

See Contact Info +

Tougaloo College
Trena Robinson-Young
Senior Financial Aid Counselor/Scholarships/Federal Work-Study Program
tlrobinson@tougaloo.edu
(601) 977-6134

Tuskegee University Microgrant

See Contact Info +

Tuskegee University
Joseph Montgomery
VP for Enrollment Management and Student Success
jmontgomery@tuskegee.edu
(334) 727-8558

Xavier University of Louisiana Microgrant

See Contact Info +

Xavier University of Louisiana
Keyana Scales
VP for Enrollment Management
kscales@xula.edu
(504) 520-7849

Man smiling

Join the Movement

We depend on the generous support of individuals, corporate partners, community advocates, and others to achieve our mission. With your help, we can lift up generations of students and empower them for success.

DonateGet InvolvedGet Funded